Tidbits From Life Abroad

Travel Route

with one comment

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

This is a broad visual representation of my travel route. The following is a rough travel itinerary:

Flight to South Africa:

  • First, I’m flying from Chicago to Minneapolis for a few-hours layover.
  • Then, I’ll jet out to Amsterdam where I’ll be staying for three nights. (Speaking of which, I need to figure out my hostel situation ASAP. I’ve found that booking a room for 5 people this late in the game is pretty difficult. My fingers are crossed…)
  • After exploring Amsterdam for a couple of days and recuperating from the transatlantic flight, I’ll fly to the southern hemisphere.

Three months in South Africa:

  • I’ll be staying in Johannesburg for most of my time in South Africa.  
  • However, NU has planned a group trip to Cape Town and Kruger National Park. 
  • Still in the planning stages: weekend trips to visit Pretoria, Durban, Lesotho, Swaziland, etc 
  • In addition, a group of us are staying an extra week to do some personal traveling after finishing our internships. So, I might end up traveling to neighboring countries Botswana and Mozambique during my time in Africa. We’ll see what happens. 

Return trip back:

  • Around mid-June, I’ll (sadly) fly back to New Jersey via a short layover in Amsterdam. 

I still need to work out some details, but that’s basically where I’ll be traveling. While I think I’ll enjoy my destinations, I know getting there and back is going to be tough. My flight time from Johannesburg to Newark, NJ, will be around 20 hours. I don’t think I’ve ever been on a plane that long.  For comparison, here are some long flights I’ve experienced before:

  • Newark, NJ to Rome, Italy: 8.5 hours
  • Newark, NJ to Sao Paulo, Brazil: 10 hours
  • Newark, NJ to Tokyo, Japan: 14 hours 

Jet-lag, here I come!

– 30 –

Written by ptakahashi

February 28, 2009 at 5:13 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nifty map. National Geographic?

    alicetruong

    March 1, 2009 at 10:25 pm


Leave a comment